The Accidental Housewife

22 Jan

Today I went to Costco, returned a sweater that I loved but had no business buying and went to the Apple store in a mall. Nothing makes me feel more like a suburban housewife than going to Costo and to the mall in the middle of the day.

As I re-enter my writing life, I still have some of the unpleasant patterns that I’d established when I was home full-time. As I write about in my book, Welcome to My Breakdown (still shopping for a publisher!), I had planned to be a stay-at-home mom for one year. After publishing and touring and publishing and touring with four novels, I finished my contract and was exhausted. I decided that I needed to stay home for a year with my son, who was four and had had nannies and Au pairs for those years. I thought (still do) that he needed my stamp on him. So, initially I figured I’d be with him for that last nursery school year and resume my very successful writing career when he entered kindergarten.
My plan was to find a lovely Mary Poppins or more accurately, a Mabel Perkins and I could happily go back to my career life as it used to be…well the first year was so good.  I felt he was really blossoming under the sun that I’d bathed him, give it another year, I’d thought. Well kindergarten turned to first grade then second and then third. By then, I’d found myself being swallowed up by domestic obligations and resentment swallowed with early afternoon cocktails.
Now my darling boy has just entered middle school–6th grade–and I’ve finally finished a book.
Now, I’m resuming my pre-accidental life. Before I offend all the stay-at-home moms, believe me when I say, I know it’s hard work to take care of a house and be everything, do everything, for your children. Some women have a beautiful temperament for the job, some don’t. I think I fall somewhere in the middle, I want to be there for my kids, but not 24/7. I need to work and have an outside life that doesn’t include my family. So there I said it.
Now, if I could just find some paper towels at my local store that I like as much as that Costco brand.

2 Responses to “The Accidental Housewife”

  1. Cathy January 16, 2015 at 4:44 pm #

    I absolutely and completely enjoy the your blogs. They are insightful, funny and heartwarming. You’ve touched a vital part of my spirit…authenticity!
    In the words of my mother, “say what you mean…and mean what you say!You do that my dear, quite well I might add. 🙂 Thank you for sharing

    • Benilde Little January 16, 2015 at 9:20 pm #

      So glad to hear that my words touch you Cathy. I love your authentic spirit.

Leave a Reply

